Link to home page of AHDS Performing Arts


Online Collections
Creating Resources
Grant Applicants
Depositing Resources
News and Events
About Us
Information Resources
Search Site
Five Centuries of Scottish Music
Explore Collection | Find out more from the AHDS collection record for this resource

This collection consists of images and sound files (extracts of recordings and digital images of scores and concert programmes) representing the work of ten Scottish composers. These emanated from a collaborative digitisation project undertaken jointly by the University of Glasgow and the Scottish Music Information Centre.

SMIC has long been facing the problem of re-cataloguing its extensive collections but, without extra funding and external technical and library support, this has not previously been possible. Although AHDS Performing Arts remit does not include digitisation, there was clearly a role in helping to identify possible funding sources, advising on digitisation procedures and providing training and technical support.

With the co-operation of the SMIC and the AHDS Performing Arts, Stephen Arnold, then AHDS Performing Arts Co-Director and "Five Centuries" Project Leader, prepared a successful bid to the Scottish Cultural Resource Access Network, or SCRAN from the Glasgow University Department of Music, to supply 1000 catalogue records, including digital images of scores and concert programmes. Ten composers are the subject of the project and the data collected for the SCRAN project was used by SMIC as the basis for its own multimedia catalogue.

smaller ahds logo AHDS Performing Arts is part of the Arts and Humanities Data Service (AHDS). Copyright 2003-7.
Page last updated: 18th July 2005